Skip to main content
Press Releases | 23 February 2018

New Board of Directors and Executive Committee

La Coop fédérée’s 96th Annual General Meeting


Montreal, February 23th, 2018 - As part of its 96th Annual General Meeting, held at the Montreal Sheraton Center on Thursday, February 22, La Coop fédérée’s Board of Directors met today to proceed with the election of its executive committee. The committee is made up as follows: 

President: Ghislain Gervais
1st Vice-president: Muriel Dubois
2nd Vice-president: Mathieu Couture
1st Executive Position: Richard Ferland
2nd Executive Position: Marc-André Roy

Welcome to a new board member 
Ghislain Gervais joins the Chief Executive Officer, Gaétan Desroches, in welcoming a new director, David Mercier, from La Coop Profid'Or. Mr. Mercier will be representing Territory 6, replacing Luc Forget, who is retiring from La Coop fédérée’s Board of Directors after 19 years of service.

Mr. Forget has been a member of the Executive Committee since 2007, and held the position of 2nd Vice-president from 2011-2015, and then was elected to the position of first Vice-president in 2016.

"We would like to congratulate Luc Forget for his remarkable work and dedication. Mr. Forget carried out his role of director with competence and professionalism. His contribution was invaluable during the board’s deliberations, always at the service of the members and the agricultural cooperative movement. We wish him every success in the future," says the president, Ghislain Gervais. 

"I would like to take this opportunity to welcome a new director, David Mercier, and wish him great success on the Board. I am also very pleased with the makeup of our Board of Directors and our Executive Committee," added President Gervais.

The composition of the Board of Directors is as follows:

Territory 1: Jean-François Pelletier and Adrien Pitre
Territory 2: Mathieu Couture and Marc-André Roy
Territory 3: Richard Ferland and Patrick Soucy
Territory 4: Normand Marcil and Benoit Massicotte
Territory 5: Muriel Dubois and Ghislain Gervais
Territory 6: François Drainville and David Mercier
Territory 7: Réjean Vermette
Territory 8: Cathy Fraser
About La Coop fédérée
Founded in 1922, La Coop fédérée is the largest agri-food enterprise in Quebec and it is the 24th largest agri-food cooperative in the world. It represents more than 120,000 members, agricultural producers and consumers grouped into nearly 70 cooperatives with operations spread out in many Canadian provinces. More than 13,000 people are employed at La Coop which has annual revenues of $6.3 billion. Including its affiliated network, La Coop fédérée has nearly 18,000 employees and consolidated revenue of $9.2 billion. Its activities are separated into three Divisions: Olymel S.E.C (under the Olymel, Flamingo and Lafleur banners), the Agri-business division (under the La Coop and Elite banners, Agrico and Agromart), and Groupe BMR under the BMR, Unimat, Agrizone and Potvin & Bouchard banners). For further information, visit Twitter account :


Ben Marc Diendéré
Senior Vice-president, Communications, Public Affairs and Brand Image
La Coop fédérée
Twitter: @Marc_Ben

Interview requests:
Nicolas Poirier-Quesnel
Senior Director, Communications and Public Affairs
La Coop fédérée

Read others articles

Press Releases | 25 August 2022

Sollio Cooperative Group reveals the winner of the 2021–2022 New Farm Enterprise and Farm Succession Award

Read article
Press Releases | 01 February 2022

Sollio Cooperative Group Proudly Celebrates its Roots and Heritage

Read article
Press Releases | 01 February 2022

Sollio Cooperative Group Proudly Celebrates its Roots and Heritage

Read article
100 years of cooperation